My story matters

So I realise I have not posted for over 7 weeks. To start with it was because I felt God wasn’t giving me anything to say but as the weeks have gone by I have admitted to myself that the reason I haven’t posted was fear. I have been fearful of failing, of not being ‘good enough’.

I am one of those people who listens to the lies of the enemy quite a lot, more then I realised actually. It turns out that his voice is far louder in my life than God’s.

When it came to my blog, which had definitely felt like a God inspired thing, the enemies whisper came along in waves. “Who are you to put your thoughts out there”, “what will people think of you”, “people will dislike you”, “you are not good enough”, “your pathetic” and on and on. 

It turns out the power of shame is pretty high in my life and I’ve been allowing Satan to get away with stealing my identity and keeping me down, buried beneath a mountain of shame and negative self talk. He has robbed me of my self worth and has told me countless times that I am not good enough in any area, that I am a failure and a disappointment. He has stolen my joy and the identity that the Bible tells me I have as a child of God.

I’ve been learning a lot recently about the power of our stories and wholeheartedly believe that my story may be hope and freedom to others. I see now why satan would much rather keep me quiet. 


Shame thrives in secrecy and silence but speak it out and the power is gone. So I’m digging deep and finding courage in God, knowing that He has my back. I’m stepping out, owning my story and sharing it and my prayer would be you can share your story too. Over to you!

Leave a Reply

